EU India: Building Perspectives for the next decade


Wednesday, 2nd March 2022
11.00 AM - 2.00 PM GMT
12.00 PM - 3.00 PM CET
4.30 PM - 7.30 PM IST

On 2nd March 1962, Indian Ambassador Krishen Behari Lall presented his Credentials to Mr Walter Hallstein, President of the Commission of the European Economic Community. He was the first to also be accredited to the European Community

EUIndia60 campaign celebrates 60 years of establishment of diplomatic relations between India and the European Union (EU) in the year 2022

EUIndia60 logo.png

To commemorate the 60 years of establishment of diplomatic relations between India and the European Union (EU) this year, Europe India Centre for Business & Industry (EICBI), supported by EU India Association and managed by Sivaleen Foundation for Developed India (SFDI), is organising a series of activities in 2022 under the campaign #EUIndia60. The activities as part of the EUIndia60 campaign will provide insights on how the relationship between the EU and India has evolved considerably over the last 60 years and will also focus on views from the next generation of leaders in the EU India corridor about their thoughts on the future of EU India relations.

The 2nd activity as part of the EUIndia60 campaign will be the "EU India: Building Perspectives for the next decade"This virtual event will look at how EU India relations can evolve during the next decade. 

 

The 1st activity of the EUIndia60 campaign was organised under the theme "EU India: A retrospective on 60 years of Diplomatic relations" on 27th January. The summit looked at how EU India relations have evolved over the 60 years and the most critical events in EU-India relations over the past 60 years. The event had several leaders in the EU India corridor and UK India corridor alongside EuropeIndia40 leaders. Some of the leaders who shared their inputs during the summit are as follows.

 

  • Mr Soren Gade - Member of European Parliament - Denmark/ Chairman - EU Delegation for Relations with India

  • Mr Seppo Nurmi - Deputy Head of Mission - Delegation of the European Union to India

  • Mr Geoffrey Van Orden CBE - Member of European Parliament - UK (1999 - 2020) / Chairman - EU Delegation for relations with India (2014 - 2019)/

  • EUIndia60 Committee

  • HE Mateja Vodeb Ghosh - Ambassador of Slovenia to India

  • ​Mr Niccolò Rinaldi - Directorate-General for External Policies of the Union - European Parliament 

 

Mr Sandro Gozi from European Parliament and Ms Priyanka Chaturvedi from the Indian Parliament could not attend the summit due to last-minute emergency issues. Find more details of the ceremony here - https://www.eicbi.org/post/a-virtual-summit-on-eu-india-a-retrospective-on-60-years-of-diplomatic-relations.

Over the last ten years, EICBI and our associate organisations have organised 22 summits at the British Parliament in London and two summits at the European Parliament in Brussels. EICBI & its delivery partners have engaged more than 3240 delegates from 2190 companies. These summits have provided an opportunity for British MPs, European MEPs, and Indian lawmakers to get to know each other and engage in discussions with companies planning to expand into these regions.  As part of the EuropeIndia40 VIEWS Campaign held in 2021, several virtual summits involving Members of European Parliament, Members of Indian Parliament, Members of British Parliament alongside EuropeIndia40 leaders were carried out to understand the view of the current generation of leaders in the EU India/ UK India corridor and next generation of EuropeIndia40 leaders. Around 40 Members of Parliament from the UK Parliament, the Indian Parliament and the EU Parliament have participated in the activities. ​​Please find more details about our previous summits here - https://www.eicbi.org/summits.

SPEAKERS

TO BE CONFIRMED

Mr Soren Gade

Mr Soren Gade

Member of European Parliament - Denmark/ Chairman - EU Delegation for Relations with India

Mr Sandeep Chakravorty IFS

Mr Sandeep Chakravorty IFS

Joint Secretary - Europe West Division, Ministry of External Affairs, India

Mr Laurent le Danois

Mr Laurent le Danois

Team Leader - Cooperation Section, Delegation of the European Union to India and Bhutan

PROPOSED AGENDA

Find agendas and post-conference reports of our previous 22 summits at British Parliament in London, two summits at the European Parliament in Brussels & other locations during the last ten years here HERE

EICBI - An Overview

Mr Sujit S Nair

Chairman, Europe India Centre for Business & Industry

11.00 AM – 11.05 AM (GMT)/ 12.00 PM - 12.05 PM (CET)/ 4.30 PM - 4.35 PM (IST)
#EUIndia60 – Welcome
Mr Soren Gade

Member of European Parliament - Denmark/ Chairman - EU Delegation for Relations with India

11.05 AM – 11.15 AM (GMT)/ 12.05 PM - 12.15 PM (CET)/ 4.35 PM - 4.45 PM (IST)
India EU Relations : Perspective for the next decade
Mr Sandeep Chakravorty IFS

Joint Secretary - Europe West Division, Ministry of External Affairs, India

11.15 AM – 11.25 AM (GMT)/ 12.15 PM - 12.25 PM (CET)/ 4.45 PM - 4.55 PM (IST)
EU Global Gateway: Building Links, not Dependencies
Mr Laurent le Danois

Team Leader - Cooperation Section, Delegation of the European Union to India and Bhutan

11.25 AM – 11.35 PM (GMT)/ 12.25 PM - 12.35 PM (CET)/ 4.55 PM - 5.05 PM (IST)
India EU - The next steps in Trade negotiations.
Ms Ursa Pondelek 

Policy Advisor for International Trade - European Parliament, Renew group

11.35 AM – 11.45 PM (GMT)/ 12.35 PM - 12.45 PM (CET)/ 5.05 PM - 5.15 PM (IST)
DISCUSSION 1
Talent Mobility in the India EU Corridor

CHAIR

Prof Neeta Inamdar, PhD

Jean Monnet Chair, Prof and Head - Manipal Centre for European Studies, Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence,

Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE), Manipal.

PANELISTS

Ms Juliane Frommter - Program Lead - EU-India Innocenter / German Entrepreneurship GmbH/ EuropeIndia40 leader

Ms Sukanya Dutta - Investment advisor,AWEX, Belgium/ EuropeIndia40 leader

Mr Naozad Hodiwala - Country Coordinator for India, International Centre for Migration Policy Development (ICMPD)/ EuropeIndia40 leader

Ms Jana Kohler - Founder, HalloGermany/ EuropeIndia40 leader

11.45 AM – 12.45 PM (GMT)/ 12.45 PM - 1.45 PM (CET)/ 5.15 PM - 6.15 PM (IST)

DISCUSSION 2

India EU : Cooperation on Climate and Energy

CHAIR

Ms Françoise Binsfeld

Director - Aide à l’Enfance de l’Inde et du Népal (AEIN)

PANELISTS

Mr Subrahmanyam Pulipak - CEO, National Solar Energy Federation of India/ EuropeIndia40 leader

Ms Raita Mocherla - VP, Pangaea TradeTeam Private Limited/ EuropeIndia40 leader

Mr Flo Oberhofer - Founder - Terra Preta Impact Innovations LLP/ EuropeIndia40 leader

12.45 PM – 1.45 PM (GMT)/ 1.45 PM - 2.45 PM (CET)/ 6.15 PM - 7.15 PM (IST)

 
Vote of thanks
1.45 PM – 2.00 PM (GMT)/ 2.45 PM - 3.00 PM (CET)/ 7.15 PM - 7.30 PM (IST)

SUPPORTED BY

If you are interested to be associated with the EUIndia60 Campaign as a sponsor/ partner, please do mail us at hello@eicbi.org or send us a message via this page