Nominate leaders for 2021 class of '#EuropeIndia40 Leaders list'
An annual listing of 40 leaders under the age of 40 who are doing great work in the EU India corridor and UK India corridor.

Presenting Sponsor

Logo final-02.png

EuropeIndia40, an initiative of EICBI which is in its 3rd year to discover Top 40 under 40 Europe India Leaders, will cover the stories of the young leaders and their contributions in promoting EU India / UK India relations. The 2019 class of #EuropeIndia40 leaders list was released at the European Parliament in Brussels whereas 2020 class of #EuropeIndia40 leaders list was released virtually in the presence of leaders from European Parliament, Indian Parliament and British Parliament.

In the year 2017, India and the EU celebrated 55 years of diplomatic relations. With Brexit opening new possibilities for furthering Europe India relations, India can look at having a renewed set of multilateral discussions with the EU and bilateral discussions with the UK. This has led to lot of discussions in the EU India trade corridor / UK India trade corridor  that Brexit will make trade deals between EU and India / India and UK a little easier.

We believe that what would really play a key role in developing a stronger EU India / UK India relations when compared to other factors is leadership. Young leaders with bright minds are not just seeking personal profit but are also committed to fostering closer cooperation between India and the EU / UK. From our experience of playing a key role in promoting EU India / UK India trade relations over the last decade, we can proudly say that future of the EU India / UK India relations looks very exciting as a new brand of young leaders is emerging from both sides. EICBI is proud to acknowledge the contributions of these young leaders who will play an important part in shaping EU India/ UK India trade relations during the next few decades.

2020 class of 40 under 40 Europe India Leaders list (#EuropeIndia40) was released virtually on 27th November as the corona virus Pandemic had effected EICBI plans to have a physical event in the year.  For the virtual release ceremony, we had Leaders from British Parliament, European Parliament and Indian Parliament participated in the ceremony alongside EuropeIndia40 leaders


From the Indian Parliament, we had Mr ALPHONS KANNANTHANAM - Member of Parliament - India/ Former Union Minister/ Member - Standing Committee for External Affairs, Indian Parliament/ Time Magazine Top 100 Global leaders in 1994. From the European Parliament, we had Mr NICCOLO RINALDI - Directorate General for External Policies of the European Union - European Parliament, Brussels.

From the UK Parliament, we had Hon VIRENDRA SHARMA MP - Member of Parliament - Ealing Southall, Chairman - Indo-British All Party Parliamentary Group and Lord WAVERLEY - Member of Parliament - House of Lords, United Kingdom/ Founder - SupplyFinder, Portugal

The 14 women and 26 men who made to the 2020 class of EuropeIndia40 list come from all walks of life and represent 19 different nationalities - Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Spain, Switzerland and United Kingdom. Please find the 2020 class list here -

The 2019 Class of #EuIndia40 leaders was released on 10th April 2019 at the European Parliament in Brussels. This included leaders who have been playing a key role in promoting EU/ India and UK/ India trade and relations. . This 2019 class of EU - India leaders (UK was still officially part of EU then) included 16 women and 24 men from all walks of life and represented 16 different nationalities - Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, France, India, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom. The list featured the stories of young entrepreneurs, policy leaders, thought leaders, business executives, trade body leaders, all under the age of 40, who are going to play an important part in shaping European Union - UK - India trade relations during the next few decades. Please find the 2019 class list here -

Activities in 2021 for #EuropeIndia40 Leaders

EICBI organised a series of virtual interactions which had participation from Members of Parliament from UK Parliament, EU Parliament and Indian Parliament who along with 2019 and 2020 Class of EuropeIndia40 leaders discussed on various issues concerning UK India relations and EU India relations. Following are the Members of European Parliament, UK Parliament and Indian Parliament who participated in the virtual interactions. 

Members of European Parliament

  • Mr Soren Gade MEP - Member of European Parliament - Denmark/ Chairman - EU Delegation for Relations with India

  • Mr Sandro Gozi, MEP- Member of European Parliament - France/ Member - EU Delegation for Relations with India, European Parliament/ Former Undersecretary for European affairs of the Italian Government

  • Ms Svenja Hahn MEP, Member of European Parliament - Germany

Members of UK Parliament

  • Lord Hannan- Member of House of Lords - UK Parliament/ Advisor - UK Board of Trade

  • Lord Rami Ranger - Member of House of Lords - UK Parliament/ Patron - Conservative Friends of India

  • Sir Iain Duncan Smith - Member of Parliament for Chingford & Woodford Green - UK Parliament/ Ex Leader of the Conservative Party.

  • Mr Robert Peter Moore MP, Member of Parliament - United Kingdom/ Member of Environment, Food and Rural Affairs select committee

  • Lord Moylan, Member of House of Lords - UK Parliament/ Former Deputy Chairman of Transport for London under Mayor Boris Johnson


Members of Indian Parliament

  • Dr K Keshava Rao MP - Member of Parliament - India/ Chairman - Parliamentary Standing Committee on Industry

  • Dr Kirit P Solanki MP, Member of Parliament - India/ Member- Standing Committee on Environment, Forest & Climate Change

  • Mr Anto Anthony, MP- Member of Parliament - India / Member of Parliamentary Standing Committee on Tourism, Transport and Culture

  • Ms Priyanka Chaturvedi, Member of Parliament - India/ Member of Parliamentary Standing Committee on External Affairs

  • Mr Alphons Kannanthanam - Member of Parliament - India/ Former Union Minister

  • Mr Achyuta Samanta MP, Member of Parliament - India/ Ex Member of Parliamentary Standing Committee on External Affairs

What is included for those you make it to the list ?

  • Opportunities to be part of discussions involving Members of Parliaments from Indian Parliament, UK Parliament and EU Parliament. Leaders from 2020 Class and 2019 class participated in number of such discussions this year. Do find more details here -

  • A special “Top 40 Under 40 EuropeIndia Leaders List” certificate so as to reflect your selection as #EuropeIndia40 leader.

  • Gain unique access to high profile business and political personalities from the UK, EU and India.

  • Your personalised social media campaign to recognise your contribution as an EuropeIndia40 Leader.

  • You will be referenced in press releases.

  • You will be invited to present your thoughts and ideas during EICBI future activities and white paper.

  • Will be featured in our website’s section of 2021 class of #EuropeIndia40 Leaders.

EICBI Team will be scouting the EU India Corridor and UK India corridor to discover potential leaders who can be part of the list. If you are aged 40 or under and would like to nominate yourself or would like to nominate someone who is playing a role in promoting a stronger EU India relations/ UK India relations, either through their business activity, think tank, NGO, Charity, trade body etc, please fill the below form or find the nomination form here -