EU India: A retrospective on 60 years of Diplomatic relations
27th Jan 1962 to 27th Jan 2022


Thursday, 27th January, 2022
11.00 AM - 2.00 PM GMT/ 12.00 PM - 3.00 PM CET/ 4.30 PM - 7.30 PM IST

EUIndia60 campaign letter from Jawarharlal Nehru

On 27th January 1962, Indian PM Shri Jawarharlal Nehru sent a letter to the President of the commission of the European Economic Community, Professor Walter Hallstein, which established the formal relations between India and the European Economic Community.

EUIndia60 campaign celebrates 60 years of establishment of diplomatic relations between India and the European Union (EU) in the year 2022

EUIndia60 logo.png

To commemorate the 60 years of establishment of diplomatic relations between India and the European Union (EU) this year, Europe India Centre for Business & Industry (EICBI), supported by EU India Association and managed by Sivaleen Foundation for Developed India (SFDI), is organising a series of activities in 2022 under the campaign #EUIndia60. The activities as part of the EUIndia60 campaign will provide insights on how the relationship between the EU and India has evolved considerably over the last 60 years and will also focus on views from the next generation of leaders in the EU India corridor about their thoughts on the future of EU India relations.

The first activity as part of the EUIndia60 campaign will be the "EU India : A retrospective on 60 years of Diplomatic relations"This virtual event will look at how EU India relations have evolved over the 60 years and the most critical events in EU-India relations over the past 60 years.

Over the last ten years, EICBI and our associate organisations have organised 22 summits at the British Parliament in London and two summits at the European Parliament in Brussels. EICBI & its delivery partners have engaged more than 3240 delegates from 2190 companies. These summits have provided an opportunity for British MPs, European MEPs, and Indian lawmakers to get to know each other and engage in discussions with companies planning to expand into these regions. 

As part of the EuropeIndia40 VIEWS Campaign, several virtual summits involving Members of European Parliament, Members of Indian Parliament, Members of British Parliament alongside EuropeIndia40 leaders were held to understand the view of the current generation of leaders in the EU India/ UK India corridor and next generation of EuropeIndia40 leaders. 

Around 40 Members of Parliament from the UK Parliament, the Indian Parliament and the EU Parliament have participated in the activities. ​​Please find more details about our previous summits here - https://www.eicbi.org/summits

SPEAKERS

Mr Soren Gade

Mr Soren Gade

Member of European Parliament - Denmark/ Chairman - European Parliament's EU Delegation for Relations with India

Mr Geoffrey Van Orden CBE

Mr Geoffrey Van Orden CBE

Member of European Parliament - UK (1999 - 2020) / Chairman - EU Delegation for relations with India (2014 - 2019)/ EUIndia60 Committee

Mr Sandro Gozi MEP

Mr Sandro Gozi MEP

Chair - EUIndia60 Committee/ Member of European Parliament - France/ Member - EU Delegation for Relations with India, European Parliament/ Former Undersecretary for European affairs of the Italian Government

Ms Priyanka Chaturvedi

Ms Priyanka Chaturvedi

Member of Parliament - India/ Member of Parliamentary Standing Committee on External Affairs

HE Mateja Vodeb Ghosh

HE Mateja Vodeb Ghosh

Ambassador of Slovenia to India

Mr Niccolò Rinaldi

Mr Niccolò Rinaldi

Directorate-General for External Policies of the Union - European Parliament

Mr Seppo Nurmi

Mr Seppo Nurmi

Deputy Head of Mission - Delegation of the European Union to India

Mr Sujit Nair.,MSc, MBA, FRSA

Mr Sujit Nair.,MSc, MBA, FRSA

Chairperson- Europe India Centre for Business & Industry

Mr Ghanshyam Nabar

Mr Ghanshyam Nabar

Director India Partnership - West Midlands Growth Company

Dr. Jitendar Sharma

Dr. Jitendar Sharma

Managing Director & CEO - Andhra Pradesh MedTech Zone (AMTZ)

Cllr Aarein Uday Areti

Cllr Aarein Uday Areti

Councillor - Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea/ EuropeIndia40 leader

Ms. Stefania Benaglia

Ms. Stefania Benaglia

Associate Researcher - Center for European Policy Studies/ EuropeIndia40 leader

Prof Nidhi Piplani Kapur

Prof Nidhi Piplani Kapur

Head - Symbiosis Centre for European Studies, Symbiosis International (Deemed University)/ EuropeIndia40 Leader

Prof Dhanasree Jayaram

Prof Dhanasree Jayaram

Assistant Professor - Manipal Academy of Higher Education/ EuropeIndia40 Leader

Prof. Stefano Greco

Prof. Stefano Greco

Professor and Founder Director, Chitkara Spaak Centre for Multidisciplinary European Studies, Chitkara University Punjab / EuropeIndia40 Leader

OTHER SPEAKERS TO BE CONFIRMED

PROPOSED AGENDA

Find agendas and post-conference reports of our previous 22 summits at British Parliament in London, two summits at the European Parliament in Brussels & other locations during the last ten years here HERE

Welcome

Mr Sujit S Nair

Chairman, Europe India Centre for Business & Industry

11.00 AM – 11.05 AM (GMT)/ 12.00 PM - 12.05 PM (CET)/ 4.30 PM - 4.35 PM (IST)
#EUIndia60 Campaign – An overview
Mr SANDRO GOZI
Chair - EUIndia60 Committee/ Member of European Parliament - France/ Member - EU Delegation for Relations with India, European Parliament/ Former Undersecretary for European affairs of the Italian Government
11.05 AM – 11.15 AM (GMT)/ 12.05 PM - 12.15 PM (CET)/ 4.35 PM - 4.45 PM (IST)
EU-India Relations, state of play in 2022
Mr Seppo Nurmi
Deputy Head of Mission - Delegation of the European Union to India
11.15 AM – 11.25 AM (GMT)/ 12.15 PM - 12.25 PM (CET)/ 4.45 PM - 4.55 PM (IST)
EU India : A retrospective on 60 years of Diplomatic relations
Ms Priyanka Chaturvedi
Member of Parliament - India/ Member of Parliamentary Standing Committee on External Affairs
11.25 AM – 11.35 PM (GMT)/ 12.25 PM - 12.35 PM (CET)/ 4.55 PM - 5.05 PM (IST)
Evolution of EU and Its relations with UK and India post-Brexit
Mr Geoffrey Van Orden CBE
Member of European Parliament - UK (1999 - 2020) / Chairman - EU Delegation for relations with India (2014 - 2019)/
EUIndia60 Committee
11.35 AM – 11.45 PM (GMT)/ 12.35 PM - 12.45 PM (CET)/ 5.05 PM - 5.15 PM (IST)
PANEL DISCUSSION 1
​How have the EU-India summits helped ​build stronger EU-India relations?

CHAIR

HE Mateja Vodeb Ghosh

Ambassador of Slovenia to India

PANELISTS

Prof Nidhi Piplani Kapur,

Head - Symbiosis Centre for European Studies, Symbiosis International (Deemed University)/ EuropeIndia40 Leader

Ms Stefania Benaglia,

Associate Researcher -  Center for European Policy Studies/ EuropeIndia40 leader

Prof Stefano Greco,

Professor and Founder Director, Chitkara Spaak Centre for Multidisciplinary European Studies, Chitkara University Punjab / EuropeIndia40 Leader

Cllr Aarein Uday Areti,

Councillor -  Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea/ EuropeIndia40 leader

11.45 AM – 12.45 PM (GMT)/ 12.45 PM - 1.45 PM (CET)/ 5.15 PM - 6.15 PM (IST)

Questions and Answers session

12.45 PM – 1.00 PM (GMT)/ 1.45 PM - 2.00 PM (CET)/ 6.15 PM - 6.30 PM (IST)

European Parliament's Delegation for Relations with India: Building relations between European Parliament and India's Lok Sabha
Mr Soren Gade
Member of European Parliament - Denmark/ Chairman - EU Delegation for Relations with India
1.00 PM – 1.10 PM (GMT)/ 2.00 PM - 2.10 PM (CET)/ 6.30 PM - 6.40 PM (IST)
PANEL DISCUSSION 2
EU India Legends: Leaders who built EU India relations over the past 60 years.

CHAIR

Mr Niccolò Rinaldi

Directorate-General for External Policies of the Union - European Parliament

PANELISTS

Prof Dhanasree Jayaram,

Assistant Professor - Manipal Academy of Higher Education/ EuropeIndia40 Leader

Dr. Jitendar Sharma,

Managing Director & CEO - Andhra Pradesh MedTech Zone (AMTZ)/ EuropeIndia40 Leader

Mr Ghanshyam Nabar,

Director India Partnership - West Midlands Growth Company/ EuropeIndia40 Leader

1.10 PM – 1.55 PM (GMT)/ 2.10 PM - 2.55 PM (CET)/ 6.40 PM - 7.25 PM (IST)

 
Vote of thanks
1.55 PM – 2.00 PM (GMT)/ 2.55 PM - 3.00 PM (CET)/ 7.25 PM - 7.30 PM (IST)

SUPPORTED BY

If you are interested to be associated with the EUIndia60 Campaign as a sponsor/ partner, please do mail us at hello@eicbi.org or send us a message via this page